SK film evaluation

 

Name   Project Stanley Kubrick Project – Production
Course Level 3 Diploma in Creative Media – Unit 4 and Unit 6 Date  
Self Evaluation

Individually write about the production experience

·      Title of the production

·      Space/location

·      Music

– How has your knowledge of SK’s work informed the way you developed your

idea for the project?

– How did the exploration of classical music guide you in creating images?

– What creative and technical choices did you make in developing your project?

– Did you managed to achieve what you expressed in your intention report or you improved

it?

– What have you learned from this production?

– How was the feedback you received? What do you think about it?

– Has this project given you more insight into the development of a project which you could

use in your FMP?

 

The title of my video was called “Nightmare” as this is what the dog in the video was experiencing. I got the idea for this from when my dog was sleeping, she was twitching and making noises, this gave me the idea that she was having a nightmare and so I thought that making video of what a dog’s dream could be like would make a good narrative story.

 

The location for this was at the local park and I had previously researched this place when doing the symmetry project where I found a lot of symmetry with natural and man-made objects/structures. I thought that this location was quite good to use as it had symmetry and the dog knows the park very well and so it’s very connected to it.

 

The music that I used was “grass” by Silent partner. I used this piece of music as it had no copyright. The main reason was because classical music like Beethoven etc. To me they were too powerful for the video and would take the video out of context, I learnt this from my previous video “The visitor” the feedback that I got from that was the music was too overpowering and didn’t fit the video very well and this is what I took in consideration when making this video.

 

Stanley Kubrick’s work made me realise that you have to research and plan everything extensively, this is what I tried to do and I think in planning this went well as I chose the correct outfits and props, but when It came to filming I only took two or three shots and this resulted in continuity errors such as the tripod being in shot, the dog sitting in one shot then standing in the next; as well as it’s ball was in its mouth at one point and then the next shot it’s not, This shows that planning is crucial and is key to perfecting the perfect shot.

Researching the music for this was a bit difficult as I thought that the ones I was listening to where to overpowering for my video, I also wanted something that had no copyright because then you would be able to view on YouTube and there would be no issues with it, therefore using “grass” by silent partner it was quite subtle but had meaning and also had no copyright to it.

  

Reflection on editing:

In the editing stages of my video I had to research different transitions which I wanted such as the fade from one place to the other, I actually didn’t find what I was looking for so I experimented on how I could do it and it turned out quite well, also the part where we find out that the it was a dream I luckily came across this transition which made the dreamy blur effect and I was very pleased that I found it, because without it you wouldn’t have known that it was a dream.  Whilst watching the video the music changes and sounds un-natural, however most people didn’t notice this as drew their attention way by making a quick cut where the music went with it, I did this because the music was too long and I wanted the end of the track to close the ending shots.

 

I did achieve what I set out to do as you can see that it’s a dream and that déjà vu does happen, also people felt emotional when watching it which meant they were connected to it which is what I also wanted to happen. However, I think I could have done more to make it more visually pleasing and more Kubrick like by carefully thinking about composition and to change the settings on the camera so that I get the best picture possible, I should of took more care in editing as well as I could of shorten some shots.

 

From this production I have learnt to take more time in planning and research locations extensively so that it fits the narrative as this sets the mood and it draws in the audience. I should also take multiple takes because some can be better than others and it saves time if you took one take and have to re-shoot.

 

This Kubrick project taught me a lot because to produce a movie like Stanley Kubrick did take time and you need keen a for detail and that composition and everything that’s in shot is very important as this captivates the audience. I also learnt that classical music is great to create an atmosphere and can be used in all different types of situations.

 

Feedback for video:

 

First feedback: Nathan shanks

 

Good things: Composition is really good and music matches very well

Had a unique idea, both very photogenic, good camera work and very gripping

 

Areas for Development: the journey on the walk was long and there were repetitive shots

 

Influence for my own practice: would love to use my dog in a project if it was possible.

 

I think this feedback is fair and I agree that the shots were too long and I like that people would want to use animals in their projects.

 

Second feedback: Seb griffin

 

Good things: Good use of one-point perspective, good colour correction, good editing

 

Areas for development: the music gets a bit repetitive

 

Influence for my own work: use more one-point perspective

 

I think some of my one-point perspective shots were good and the colour correction was alright and was better than the original colour. I understand that the music gets repetitive but I thought that it fit the video quite well.

 

 

 

Third feedback: Jonathan Zold

 

Good things: the music was good, symmetry shots were good, liked the story / concept

 

Areas for development: none

 

Influence in my work: how to be friends with a dog, experiment with different locations

I think this was a good feedback as I didn’t get areas for development and they said they liked a lot about the video.

 

This project has helped me loads as it has taught me about one-point perspective and that this can visually make a shot more interesting. I now know that classical music can be used in many different ways and that it gives powerful meaning for a certain shots and can make a film connect to the audience.

I’m going to take these experiences into my FMP. I will take multiple shots and at different angles so that I can get the perfect angle for a certain scene, change the settings on the camera so it looks more professional when shooting, but most importantly plan plan plan all the shots and extensively as this will save time when coming to shooting the FMP.

 

Leave a Reply

