Reflecting on my film

The making of my film.

The idea:

My idea for making my representation of “The Visitor” was of a dog that is minding it’s own business and a Visitor comes to the house aka the robber and they try to break in, however encounters the dog and there becomes a confrontation between them  and the robber gets bitten by the dog. 

I got this idea from the Illumination movies “life of pets” which is a animated movie of pets that are left at home by their owners as they go out to work and are filmed of what they get up to. I thought this was a good as it gives a different perspective of what pets do whilst their owners are out of the house, so this gave me the idea to make a film about what a dog does when a robber comes to the house.the_secret_life_of_pets_poster

Risks:

When making any film there are loads of risks when filming and with my film there was a few risks some of these risks include.

Risks the dog could of encountered:

  • Stairs: the dog could of lost its footing and could of fell down the stairs and seriously hurt its self, as well running up the brick stairs outside which could of resulted in her tripping and falling on the stairs.
  • Camera equipment: the dog was fine with the harness on her back but if she didn’t then she could of tried to take it of which could of caused damaged to the camera and could of hurt the dog.

Risks the robber could of encountered:

  • I could of tripped on the stairs and could of fallen and potentially of hurt myself
  • The dog could of bitten me and cause serious damaged to my hand

 

Research:

I didn’t have to research as much for my film because I knew what my dog did when the owners left the house which consisted on sleeping, eating, drinking, and going to the toilet, I also knew how my dog reacted when a stranger comes to the house as they do it all the time even if they know who the person is, however i did have to research a lot to see what music would fit the situation of certain parts of the movie. From the start we can here the birds singing which i got from a website which has loads of sound clips.

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-14-11-02

 

Then the music “pack up” by Eliza Doolittle starts playing when the camera gets the dog into frame, I done this to make the start of the film seem calm and that the dog is waking up.

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 14.12.57.png

Couple of clips later the music cuts off and the suspension music kicks in, which I got from a sound clip website, then the music “run boy run” by Woodkid starts playing to set the scene of the dog running which gets the audience excited to what happens next.

 

What I was feeling:

When filming I was feeling quite confident to film as it was morning lighting which I wanted my dog was full of beans which was great as I didn’t have to take too many shots, I had fully charged my camera’s and got the essential camera equipment out. I also liked editing clips and adding sound clips to make the film sound better. The frustrating part I found from this experience was having to make a film with into minutes.

Evaluation:

Looking back on my film the whole process went quite well as its what i wanted to turn out like however making this film I had experienced loads of good and bad parts.

The good parts consisted of getting good transitions of the dog going into different parts of the house so you can follow the dog through the house also getting one take from the point of view camera which saved time and effort for both me and the dog, I also felt that the editing went well, apart from when I didn’t save all my clips and audio so I ended up losing all my work and having to restart from the beginning, like making the clips flow seamlessly and having them make sense, also I felt that the audio went well with the film as they change the audiences feeling to make the film feel happy to tense.

The bad parts of this whole process was having to make the film with in two minutes which I felt was hard because you need to make the film make sense so i had to shorten the clips a lot so that they met the two minute mark, however I did make the film a little bit longer, also when I was editing i didn’t save my clips and audio so when I came to open it I lost all my work and to start again. When filming I had to retake a few shots because my mum had got in shot but it wasn’t such a big issue.

Analysis:

From this experience I have found that the smallest things can mess up your work, just likes when I was filming the dog run into the living room and my mum was in shot I had to retake the clip which wasted time and valuable light which could mess up the feeling that its the morning. From this task I have learnt to plan the shot before I take it straight away and that I shouldn’t rush the shoot like moving people out of shot etc. Whilst editing i found that trying to crop music down to fit curtain parts of the film was difficult so it would be jumpy and also there were sudden changes in music because i wanted the mood to change but it had to be two minutes long so trying to get the music to change in the time period was difficult.

Conclusion:

Now looking back on the film i have seen that i have to make sure that everything is in the correct position and everything that isn’t supposed to be in shot I should get it out before filming as this will help save time when coming to shooting. I should of used special equipment to help me film, such as a tripod which will stop the shakiness. I could of used better lighting as some parts were quite dark like the part when the dog is having a drink.

Action plan:

For future projects I’m going to use a tripod for less shaky shots, and maybe a better camera, but this all comes down to planning I need to plan every detail of my shoot from location to equipment as this will help me create a perfect film.

FEEDBACK

Nathan reviewed my film and thought that I had handled the camera very well and that the overall idea was very good. Nathan also thought that I used good shots and angles to show the movement of the dog, however he said that the music changed too quickly; that the change in music was too quick making the film seem a bit confusing to why there was happy music straight to dramatic music, from this film he thought that first person view may seem like a good idea and might use it in his next task.

Nathan’s feedback was good for me as I understood where he was coming from and I’m going to take in consideration the quick change in music I should fade the music out.

Kira had also given me some feedback and she thought i had great transitioning from shot to shot, also she liked the point of view of the dog because it was different, Kira also liked the music that was played whether it was a song she liked or she thought the song matched the film and lastly she liked the plot. The bad things she thought about this was the end song was too loud and seemed a bit over dramatic for the situation and from this film she will be taking away the transitioning from shot to shot.

The feedback that I got form Kira was helpful as this made me think that the level of sound was important as tis can play with the audience.

To view my video click on the video!

Leave a Reply

